The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success

A bright rainbow in my clouds has been Deepak Chopra and, in particular, a relatively short (about 100 pages) book he wrote in 1994 called The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success. It sets forth seven simple, but life-altering, concepts. As the book is taught at the Chopra Center in San Diego, the idea is to read and focus on one of those concepts every day of the week, as follows:

  • Sunday: The Law of Pure Potentiality
  • Monday: The Law of Giving
  • Tuesday: The Law of “Karma”, or Cause and Effect
  • Wednesday: The Law of Least Effort
  • Thursday: The Law of Intention and Desire
  • Friday: The Law of Detachment
  • Saturday: The Law of “Dharma”, or Purpose in Life

My Experience: The Law of Detachment

In the book, Deepak describes each law in detail and gives three concrete steps for putting it into action. I won’t attempt to summarize all of that here, but here’s a bit about one of the seven laws that has been particularly impactful in my life: the Law of Detachment.

I’m a “Type A” person, very goal-oriented and driven. That can be a good thing and what the Law of Intention and Desire is all about. BUT, I used to get too attached to achieving my goals, as a means of trying to control life and achieve a (false) sense of security. I’d get upset and waste a lot of energy when things didn’t turn out as I had planned.

Through the Law of Detachment, I learned to let go of my attachment to a particular outcome without letting go of my goals. I now realize that what I think I want isn’t always what’s best for me. In fact, many times the best things happen when I DON’T get what I think I want, and something better — a possibility I didn’t even know existed — comes along. Reading, and re-reading, Seven Spiritual Laws helped me see that my fierce need to achieve my goals arose in part from fear and attachment to the past and the known. But life can’t progress when you try to control it — it flourishes in the realm of the unknown.

As Deepak would say: “When you experience uncertainty, you are on the right path — so don’t give up. You don’t need to have a complete and rigid idea of what you’ll be doing next week or next year, because if you have a very clear idea of what’s going to happen and you get rigidly attached to it, then you shut out a whole range of possibilities.

Get Your Deepak On

That’s just a small taste of the wisdom contained in The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success. I’m a big fan of e-books, and this one is available on Kindle. However, I really like having this book in paper form because I read it so frequently and keep it  in my bedside table. You can get a good used copy for around $5 (shipping included) through Amazon.

Another great (and free!) resource is the Chopra Center web site. : www.chopra.com. You can sign up for the Chopra Center’s monthly newsletter, which features articles by Deepak and members of the Chopra Center family, and the newsletter frequently includes more teachings from The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success. If you’re inspired to read this book, I hope it has as powerful and positive and influence on your life as it has had on mine!

8 thoughts on “The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success

  1. I am excited about your blog, Lisa, and look forward each Sunday to your rainbow. After reading your post, I dusted off two Chopra books from our bookshelves to re-read: “The Path to Love” and the “Seven Spiritual Laws for Parents”.

    It is interesting that you noted the law of detachment. I think of it in terms of acceptance; being in alignment with what is. Rather than expending energy on worry and stress, when I remind myself that God/the universe brings into our lives the things that we need to experience at this given point in time, there is a sense of peace. As you say, sometimes the best things happen when we don’t get what we think we want.

    Thanks for sharing your positive thoughts!

  2. Thank you Lisa, for taking the time to share your experiences with us. This is a really excellent reminder of things that I too often forget, and are so very important. The law of detachment, that is golden. He really is a smart guy, and you are too for recognizing the importance of sharing his wonderful thoughts. I am going to pass this along to my kids.

  3. so true. When I stop trying to control everything, the universe has a way of opening the right doors for me. What seems like a tragedy at the time (divorce, losing a job, etc.), has often been the beginning of a great opportunity and a great opportunity for me to grow as a person. I will definitely be getting that book!

  4. Pingback: Path to Purpose Part 3: Execution | A Rainbow In The Clouds

Leave a Reply

