Vedic Astrology (Jyotish) Reading

One of the best things I’ve ever done in terms of self knowledge and direction in life is to have a “Jyotish” reading with Brent Becvar. Jyotish is Hindu or Vedic astrology, which is based on the sidereal zodiac rather than the tropical zodiac or “sun signs” of Western astrology. Brent is a trained psychotherapist, and an extremely nice man, who has practiced Jyotish for about 30 years. I met him at the Chopra Center is San Diego, where I attended a presentation he gave on Jyotish.

In Jyotish, your astrology chart is based on the location and time of your birth, and the planetary alignment on the horizon at that point, especially the position of the moon and the rising sign. To plot your chart, Brent needs the city where you were born and the time of your birth, as precise as possible (hour and minute). If that information isn’t in your birth records, you can contact a Vital Records office in or near the city where you were born and request it.

Brent isn’t psychic. He doesn’t predict your future. Rather, he provides powerful insights into emotional patterns and strengths and challenges in relationships, career, health, and spiritual progress.

My Jyotish Reading

My reading began with Brent explaining the planetary alignment at the time and place of my birth, the sign I am in the sidereal zodiac, and the characteristics that go along with that. While my Western zodiac sign is Libra, in Vedic astrology I’m a Cancer (the characteristics of which align perfectly with me). Based on his reading of my chart, Brent told me about skills I have that are particularly strong, the kind of things and places and situations I’m naturally drawn to, and what my essential nature is.

He then discussed “challenging” areas in my chart, primarily the “Mars Affliction.” In a nutshell, I tend to be overly judgmental and volatile (the warrior) and to “cut and run” from relationships. Here’s thgood part: Brent gave me specific exercises to help with my Mars Affliction. His advice was very eye opening and helpful in understanding myself and “coming to terms with the Mars” in my chart.

Brent reviewed the planetary periods in my life (past, present and future). This part of the reading was so accurate that it was hard to believe that he’s not psychic, and he derives all his information just from the birth place and time. What he told me about the present period wasn’t exactly what I wanted to hear, but knowing that I’m in a “Ketu” period (which involves stripping away materialism, taking on a more spiritual perspective and looking for deeper peace) helped me better understand and weather the current changes in my life.

A particular focus of Brent’s is helping people find their purpose in life, what they were put here to do. In Sanskrit, this is called dharma. It’s not a specific career or activity, but an attitude of “how can I serve.” Armed with what Brent told me about my natural talents, I’ve been focusing on dharma and pursuing things that ignite my passions and enable me to give back (like doing this blog and volunteering). As Brent explained, if you ask for dharma, it WILL come to you. You just need to trust that you have a significant part to play, and let go and let it happen.

Contact Brent For Your Own Jyotish Reading

Readings with Brent are 90 minutes and are done by telephone. He sends you an audio recording (WAV file) of the session by email. The recording is packed with insights, and I listen to mine frequently. Brent’s contact information and pricing for readings are available on his web site. If you do a reading with Brent, I’d love to hear about your experience!

7 thoughts on “Vedic Astrology (Jyotish) Reading

  1. This is so interesting, Lisa. I remember listening to your recording with Brent when you shared that awhile ago, and it was really fascinating! I love what you said about dharma: “an attitude of “how can I serve.” Armed with what Brent told me about my natural talents, I’ve been focusing on dharma and pursuing things that ignite my passions and enable me to give back (like doing this blog and volunteering). As Brent explained, if you ask for dharma, it WILL come to you. You just need to trust that you have a significant part to play, and let go and let it happen.”

  2. Hi again! It may sound funny, but grasping the true concept of dharma, and letting go of the “what’s in it for me” perspective hasn’t been easy. The reading with Brent helped quite a bit. I got so much out of my 90 minutes with him. Let me know if you every do a reading with him….

  3. Pingback: Tough Love 2: If You Can Spot It, You’ve Got It | A Rainbow In The Clouds

  4. Hi! I came across your blog when I did a google search for Brent BecVar. I recently submitted my application for a one-on-one Jyotish consultation. My question is that I emailed my application a week and a half ago, but have never received any confirmation. I was wondering how long it took before you received your consultation, and did you received any follow-up emails or calls prior to the consultation. Thank you in advance, I am so excited to gain new insights into my life!

    Wade

    • It may take a little while, but it’s well worth the wait! I met Brent at a Chopra Center retreat and several hundred people applied for readings at the same time. That was in November, and I had my reading the following February since he had so many readings to do. But you can rest assured that he will follow up with you as soon as he can. I have nothing but good things to say about my experience with him, and I continue to gain insights from my reading with him.

Leave a Reply

