Rainbow Of The Week: A Cure, To My Head From My Toes

I never could have predicted when I decided to treat myself to a reflexology session at Exhale Spa in Chicago that it would lead to a cure for my migraine headaches. I was very lucky to have Daniel Mendez as my massage therapist. As he worked on the reflexology points on and around my toes, Daniel asked if I suffered from headaches. I told him that, since turning 40, I’ve had debilitating migraines during my period.

“You need to try Feverfew,” Daniel said. He explained that Feverfew (Tanacetum pathenium) is an herb that’s a member of the daisy family. It comes in a variety of forms including capsules, tablets and liquid extract. Daniel recommended the liquid form, which is available at Whole Foods. After years of searching unsuccessfully for a migraine remedy, I was willing to give just about anything a shot. So off to Whole Foods I went, where I purchased a bottle of Feverfew for about $12.

Much to my amazement and delight, Feverfew has eliminated my migraines! I take it throughout my period as recommended on the bottle (4 times per day, in a little bit of water). I’ll warn you that it tastes horrendous, so some type of chaser is in order.

Curious as to how Feverfew works, I did some research and learned that Feverfew’s migraine-relieving qualities are believed to arise from the parthenolide it contains. Parthenolide helps prevent constriction of blood vessels in the brain, a leading cause of migraines. Pregnant women, children under the age of 2, and anyone being treated for high blood pressure shouldn’t use Feverfew.

I can’t thank Daniel enough for directing me to Feverfew. No more spending a couple of days every month curled up on the couch holding my head in my hands and thinking, “make it stop, make it stop.” I may have gone into Exhale intending to treat my tootsies, but I left with a cure for my head!

2 thoughts on “Rainbow Of The Week: A Cure, To My Head From My Toes

  1. That’s fantastic! I am fortunate and haven’t experienced migraines, but I understand that they are debilitating. I’ve mentioned Feverfew to Brian, who also gets migraines (however, not with periods…) I’m glad that you found a natural cure for your migraines. Probably worth the bitter taste!

    • It’s a bit like doing a shot of Whiskey, only it removes the headache instead of giving you one! Anyway, words can’t express how thankful I am to have finally found a remedy after years of searching for one. Let me know if Brian tries Feverfew, and if it works for him.

Leave a Reply

