Rainbow Of The Week: Moving From Good To Great

I’ve been a fan of Stephen Covey for years. It began when I read his best-selling book, The Seven Habits of Highly Effective People, followed by First Things First, which has had a tremendously positive impact on my life. When I started using Twitter, I naturally decided to follow Covey. He doesn’t tweet that often (unlike some people who are tweetaholics!), but one of Covey’s recent tweets was like a message directly from him to me.

I have a condo in Chicago that I love. I’ve spent the past 5 years making it into my dream home. As much as I adore it, my condo keeps me locked into my current job so I can pay the mortgage, and locked out of other opportunities like working for a nonprofit. I know my current job isn’t fulfilling my highest and best purpose in life, and that it’s time for me to reposition myself and move to the next level.

Two weeks ago, I had to decide whether to sign a contract from my real estate agent to list my condo for sale. I was in agony,  anxious and sad at the thought of leaving my dream home, and skeptical that I’d find a decent buyer in today’s horrendous market. I decided to check Twitter for a distraction.

And there it was, a tweet from Covey: “Don’t be afraid to give up the good to go for the great.” I laughed. I cried. I signed the listing contract.

My condo went on the market last week. The first showing was on Saturday. They made an offer. Now I’ve sold my condo, and I’m free to move forward. Thank you, Stephen Covey!!

Are you willing to give up the good to go for the great?

9 thoughts on “Rainbow Of The Week: Moving From Good To Great

  1. Funny how the universe seems to send you what you need, if you simply listen. I was watching a movie with my husband, Temple Grandin. She has a quote in it that was perfect for me at the time, “the door opened, and I walked through it.”. I was being laid off and had the idea for my business. Being laid off was the door, and I walked through it!

    So happy for you…just as long as this new vocation does not take you away from Chitown! 😉

  2. Stephen Covey has been one of my heroes since I had the pleasure of seeing him in mid-80s, just before “7 Habits” was released. His mission is G-R-E-A-T. Me, on the other hand? still in pursuit

  3. Pingback: Rainbow of the Week: Tiny But Mighty | A Rainbow In The Clouds

Leave a Reply

