Lost and Found

This week, as I sort through and pack up my belongings to move to a smaller place, two things are happening: (1) I’m shedding boxes and bags full of stuff that’s no longer me (why in the world did I accumulate so many things relating to shoes??); and (2) I’m finding old beloved things that I had forgotten all about (so THAT’S where I put the watch my dad got when he retired!), and I’m bringing them back into my life. I’ve also been following T.D. Jakes’ advice to “move into a new room” that makes me “dream again, think again, read again, learn again, a room with people who make deposits and not just withdrawals in your life.” Part of moving into that new room is doing this blog. I’ve encountered some very kind and helpful people in this new room, including Kate MacNicol, who recently reminded me that I should be reading Writer’s Digest.

Writer’s Digest used to be a regular part of my life when I was working on my Masters in Editing and Publishing at the University of Cincinnati, back in the days when dinosaurs roamed the earth. (OK, there were no dinosaurs, but there were no iPhones or Kindles either.) I lost that part of me when I went to law school, like a cozy sweater I put in a storage box and lost track of. By directing me back to Writer’s Digest, Kate helped me remember how much I enjoyed focusing on the writing profession before I got sucked into the black hole of lawyerdom. Finding that part of me again feels pretty wonderful. So thanks, Kate, for being a rainbow in my moving clouds this week!

If you’re also in the midst of moving into a new room, keep at it! Your efforts will pay off if, like T.D. Jakes advises, you take baby steps, wait for the payback, and have courage to take risks. And if you see a chance to help someone who’s moving into the room where you already reside (like Kate did for me this week), seize the opportunity to be a rainbow in their clouds….

2 thoughts on “Lost and Found

  1. I’m so happy that my comment about Writer’s Digest helped you remember your life before the dinosaurs. I remember those days too. Cell phone the size of a brick with 3 inch antenna anyone? Ironically, the Writer’s Digest issue I told you about for this month is called The Risk-Takers Issue, which is perfect for you and for where you are in your life right now.

    It tickles me to be a part of your moving rainbow this week. Have fun, and here’s to making many more delightful discoveries!

  2. Again, thank you so much for the nudge! I’ve subscribed to the digital version of Writer’s Digest and already have so much stuff from them to read (which I’ll do next week since I’ve taken the week off to move). I can’t believe I had forgotten about such a great resource. They should give you a commission. 🙂

Leave a Reply

