A New Beginning, & Another Beginning’s End

There’s a line in the song “Closing Time” that goes, “every new beginning comes from some other beginning’s end.” For me, my “other beginning’s end” is leaving my home to its new buyers this week. I’m stealing a “random acts of rainbow” idea from my friend Susan (who also recently moved) by leaving a bottle of champagne and a “welcome” card for the new owners in the fridge.

The beginning’s end of selling my place opens the door for the new beginning of pursuing my application for the Peace Corps. Today, I had my first interview with my Peace Corps recruiter. The discussion ranged from whether I’d go to a country where I had to wear a burqa (that would be very, very, very, very, very H-A-R-D for me, but I promised myself to be open to ANYTHING), to describing a time when I disagreed with how something was done but had to do it anyway (I went back to the “old skool” days when I, a mere girl, was unqualified to be an altar boy).

The interview went past the allotted 90 minutes and, at the end, my recruiter nominated me for a university teaching position in Asia. It will be several months yet before I know if the nomination leads to an actual offer and, if so, what country I’ll be heading to. (Please no burqas, please no burqas, please no burqas.) For now, it’s closing time, time for me to go out to the places where I will be from, and to leave a bubbly and random act of rainbow in my wake.

4 thoughts on “A New Beginning, & Another Beginning’s End

    • Thanks! I hope to live in a place with internet access and electricity so I can blog while I’m in Peace Corps (which should be very likely if I teach at a university). And if I’m sent someplace where burqas are required, maybe I’ll start a blog called “Behind the Burqa”….

  1. Congrats on the nomination! And for what it’s worth, I think you’d manage a Behind The Burqa blog with your usual grace. I will however, pray it doesn’t happen. LOL
    Wonderful idea to leave the champagne behind, in a way it’s a gift to yourself, a closure and I can easily imagine the looks of surprise and smiles on the new people who are settling in. I’ll use this someday. Thanks!

    • Thanks, Kate! I somehow managed to schedule my move on the hottest days on record in Chicago history, but all of the boxes are now unpacked. Having to wear a burqa can only be slightly worse. And the end result — whether a new place that I love or understanding a completely different slice of humanity — is worth it. In either event, champagne is a big help!

Leave a Reply

