“I Never Saw the Difference Between Disability and Ability”

Every four years, we’re treated to amazing stories about athletes’ roads to the Olympic games. One of the most inspirational stories to come out of the 2012 Olympics is that of South African runner Oscar Pistorius. A double amputee at 11 months old, Pistorius has played sports his entire life. In this video interview, he explains that, as a kid, he just thought he had different shoes than everyone else.

Pistorius is the first double amputee to compete in the Olympic games, making it to the semi-finals in the men’s 400 meters. He’ll also compete in the 4×400 meter relay.

I thought of Pistorius when I got up this morning. My legs were sore and my mind started to search for excuses to skip my morning run. As Pistorious says, “You’re not disabled by the disabilities you have, you are able by the abilities you have.” Sometimes I forget how lucky I am to be able to run. Pistorious helped me remember.

One thought on ““I Never Saw the Difference Between Disability and Ability”

  1. Pingback: Your excuse is invalid | Trend Feed

Leave a Reply

