Craigslist Joe

Feeling down on Friday night after an extra-stressful work week, I decided to watch a new documentary film called “Craiglist Joe.” It’s about 29-year-old Joe Garner who, for one month, leaves everything behind except his cell phone (with a new number that his friends and family don’t have), laptop and the clothes on his back, and lives off of the kindness of strangers he meets through Craigslist.

Would the internet community enable Joe to survive for 31 days as he crisscrosses the United States (including stops in Chicago, New York, New Orleans and San Francisco)? It does that, and much more. So if you need a little uplifting shot of “feel good” like I did, check out “Craigslist Joe” (in theaters and on Xfinity On Demand). It’s definitely my Rainbow of the Week.

2 thoughts on “Craigslist Joe

  1. This movie looks great – and I don’t say that very often. I don’t think that it is in Australia yet, but I’ll see it when it does come 🙂 I ordered that Marc Barasch book on compassion you blogged about a few weeks ago, and it arrived a few days ago! I’m really enjoying it. Thanks for your really cool recommendations.

  2. It’s a surprisingly inspiring film. I really like its premise of the internet as a new form of community. Blogging is part of that: how cool is it that I get to connect with a kindred spirit like you halfway around the world? Glad you’re enjoying Barasch’s book, and thanks for getting my day off to a really nice start with your note.

Leave a Reply

